Lubed keyboard is enough?

·

2 min read

Just got his vintage(not so much as it does still have win keys), not as heavy as the WYSE, also lubed, a bit louder, but I kinda like the sound, the feel is good too. I wonder if the older membrane keyboard are all lubed from factory. Anyway, it is still a pretty good deal.

Also got this Ortek keyboard, MCK-201FX with lime(I believe)/Green ALPS switches. Almost the same as this one except for the switches. They don't feel as good, perhaps due to the dust coming into the switchs, man cleaning them would be a time-consuming task. Someday... Just glad I got this. This is for 80286 for sure as the number is printed on the back of the keyboard. They are not well made, the keycaps are pretty thin and connecting rod would easily crack, so gotta be really careful pull them out.

And then this 'xiaobawang' keyboard from the childhood, with a compact layout. They are not meant for PC, so I will need to install a converter which is also a time-consuming job, also clean and lub the switches would also be... I don't know when I will have the time ever..

Oh almost forgot the FLAGK branded white switch keyboard, they are from modern, no ALPS switches for sure, not even sure there is spring in the switches. Perhaps just a membrane underneath, the keycaps are very loose. Gotta say I really don't know what to do with them, someday I will see if the lub will stablized the keycaps, if so the pretty much give out a ttc red switch feel, or else I might just get rid of it for good.

So much for the cheap ones I guess.