The Model M rubber dome

·

1 min read

I bought the first Model M rubber dome version on XY out of curiosity, also I guest mostly because I think it was a pretty good deal, this one does not come with the IBM logo, even thought the mold was the same for the IBM ones, it does leave the spot to hold the logo.

Some say that they are the best rubber dome keyboard but I doubt it, maybe this one doesn't have the quality that the IBM official ones have, or it hasn't been used for too long that the rubber dome is aged and becomes a bit sticky that I should really give it a full clean( I didn't do that due to the massive work to tear down the metal plate and reveal the rubber domes). I do find better feel in other Model M rubber dome ones, but for now I don't have time to clean them all and compare. It is better to use a palmrest to reduce the fatigue if you play to type for a while. For now I would say the logitech M100 would beat it in some way. I would only say that it has a special feel that no other keyboard could prepare, I do hope the other 2 rubber domes would have better feel.